Si Putih : half cat, half human

When picking up my sister and her daughter from Semarang in Gambir train station some weeks ago, I warned them, “You can stay overnight in my house. But please don’t comment on anything. Anything ! Since there are a lot of unusual things in my house. A pile of newspapers of two-meter high, a half cat-half human who think she is human, and so on”.

They agreed, and I started to crank my car’s engine, home-bound…

Welcome in Pondok Gede !

Si putih, the female cat, thinks she is half cat and half human. I found her being left by her mother cat about two years ago. The mother cat left her besides my car in the garage, in a noodle box hidden from one’s view. At first, I didn’t realize that the kitten was left there. I happened to wash my car one day and hearing a very soft “meoowww”. Very very soft that I thought it was nothing. The meoww began harder and harder, and here I was, picking a cute female kitten colored white. I called her “Si Putih” (something like “snow white” lah !)..

My younger daughter Ditta was so impressed with this 3-month old little kitten. She roared as a lion, jumped as a deer, and knelt as a crocodile or a komodo dragon ! She was very active in seeking food or milk. At first I was a little bit confused how can I fed this kitten with Friskies. Soon I found the direction in the Friskies box and I started fed her with Friskies mixed with some water..

The kitten lived outside our house, that is, in the garage. Comfortable place to live though. But when we, my whole family, missed her so much, my younger daughter just picked her from outside my house and placed her in front of our television set in our family room. Every single move she made, made all of us laugh as hell ! Very entertaining…

At 8-month old she was pregnant. A while later she delivered three kittens. Short-lived though, as si Putih was constantly moving the kittens from here to there, from there to here, back and forth.

The second generation kittens of si Putih were long lived. Two male kittens we named it Kimi (from Kimi Raikonnen, the world champion pranching horse Ferrari driver of F1 car) and Ringo (from Ringo Agus Rahman, the cute film star that we all love). The other was a female kitten (she didn’t die, just disappeared, we don’t know why). The reason why they were long lived is because I changed their diet from combination of fish-rice-friskies, to friskies only. I call Kimi and Ringo “a celebration of life”..

The third generation kittens of Si Putih was so troublesome. They pooed (?) a lot, and the peed (?) a lot too. I was trying to send them “to school” but only successful with one kitten, and not the other kitten..

Now si Putih is having four kittens as her fourth-generation kittens. And the trouble begins. Si Putih keeps moving their kittens from the locker room to family room, to garage, back to locker room…

And no wonder I warned my sister not commenting on something that unusual in my house…

Kittens used to make my life happier. But maybe, not now dear. For me now, too much kittens means too much trouble..

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Agung
    Feb 27, 2008 @ 09:26:50

    MY GOD..!!
    i can’t imagine that,if there’re so many cat in my house.
    hahaha..!!
    i don’t like pet anyway.

    Reply

  2. Tri Djoko
    Feb 27, 2008 @ 09:46:03

    Agung : pets can make your life longer, or even happier…

    Actually I dream of having a Rottweiler or Golden Retriever or St. Barnard’s dog, so can I play frisbee with them in a football/soccer field. Sound amusing, er ?

    Sometimes I should stay alone in my house, especially when my daughter went to college in separate cities, i.e., Semarang and Bandung, and my wife had to attend military school and not allowed to go home (be called “recreation”), then the only entertainment for me was playing with my kittens..

    They were so adorable..

    But now neighbors start complaining, and there is no way for me but to send my cats and all the kittens “to school”…

    Reply

  3. Agung
    Feb 27, 2008 @ 10:55:02

    hehehe..!!
    but if i’m alone in my house,usually i either sleep or play with my laptop.
    i don’t like the smell.
    the pee and the feces.
    MY GOD..!!
    hahahaha..!!

    i think neither cat nor dog can’t make me happier.
    but a wonderful girl can make it.
    hahahahahhahaha……!!!!

    Reply

  4. Tri Djoko
    Feb 27, 2008 @ 15:41:51

    Agung : but if your girl likes pets so much, what happen then ?

    She’d rather marry another person….

    hik..hik..hik..

    Reply

  5. Agung
    Feb 27, 2008 @ 16:04:32

    MY GOD..!!
    that’s a hell situation.
    my last ex-girlfriend likes animal so much.
    she’s just like Steve Irwin’s step daughter.
    she has turtles,dog,chipmunks,bird,and fish.
    MY GOD..!!!
    hehehehe..!!
    so,…..
    but the pets is not the reason taht made us broke up.
    hehehehe..!!
    i’ll try to find the non-animal lover anyway.

    Reply

  6. edratna
    Feb 28, 2008 @ 07:18:25

    Because of my husband and my childen asmatic, I never have a cat in my home.

    Reply

  7. tridjoko
    Feb 28, 2008 @ 09:23:43

    Bu Edratna : I saw a lot of children in the States who are seriously ill or physically handicapped can be cured from their illness as well as their handicap because befriended with their beloved pets..

    If a blind man or a blind woman can be guided by a trained rottweiller (golden retriever) dog so he/she can go anywhere around the campus because of the dog, then why a man/woman with asthmatic cannot be cured either ?

    If a dog, for instance, can help curing the serious illness, then a dog can help curing the less serious illness too..

    The problem is, maybe one’s afraid of trying…

    Reply

  8. nel
    May 23, 2008 @ 17:55:57

    be careful with tocsoplasma virus.
    i suggest, if your daughter married and before pregnant, she accomplish TORCH test

    Reply

  9. tridjoko
    May 23, 2008 @ 18:27:44

    –> Mbak Nel :

    Yep, mbak. Thanks for the warning. But our family love cats very much. Concerning my daughter, yes mbak I will…

    But health is so personal. One person is so ill and the others are so healthy. I have a neighbor who didn’t have any complaint whatsoever although I have a lot of cats. They have 2 healthy children although everyday they befriended with my cats…

    So, better not start everything with worry…

    Reply

  10. tutinonka
    May 23, 2008 @ 20:46:42

    Katimbangane konangan yen boso Inggrisku uuelek, aku tak komentar nganggo boso Jowo wae. Pareng nggih, Pak Tri?

    It was surprised me that you are a cat lover. I love cat very much too, but because my husband doesn’t like that pretty pet at all, I don’t keep any at home. As a substitute, I collect so many photos, books, and many kind of things shaped cat, such as pillow, doll, bag, wallet, shoes, painting, watch, jewelry, everything … !
    In my blog, I upload many very-very funny cats. Being crazy cat lover, some friends call me “Caty” ….. he he he …

    Miaoooow …..

    Reply

  11. tridjoko
    May 24, 2008 @ 00:51:13

    –> Bu Tutinonka :

    Pareng kok Bu ngangge basa Jawinipun…

    Wow, what should I call you now ? Ms. Caty Tutinonka ?

    Hahahahaha…sounds cool…

    I myself love cats. My daughters adore cats too. But my wife sometimes hate cats, sometimes love them too, and she often “talk” with the cats..

    When I was a boy still, I had a family of cats, meaning that there were the mother cat and its three kittens. The colors are “kembang telon” (kind of greyish with blackish stripes on it)…

    Since then I love that furly creatures….

    Reply

  12. tridjoko
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 14:31:11

    –> To All Readers of this posting :

    Si Putih died peacefully of a natural cause on Monday, June 2, 2008.

    She apparently ate rice mixed with fish from a neighboring trash can or somewhere else. She was dying when I left for office on Monday morning. Besides her lying body I found a vomit leftover smelt of fish…

    It was the contaminated fish who killed her..

    May God forgive her…

    Reply

  13. nel
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 16:27:43

    so sorry to hear that

    Reply

  14. tridjoko
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 16:46:26

    –> Mbak Nel :

    Thanks for your condolence. She’s already rested in peace right now…

    She survived by her male kittens : Ringo (1 year) and Otto (4 months). Both of her kittens inherited her white color with dotted blacks..

    Now I become Otto’s playing mate….he often plays with my toes..

    I feed the male kittens with Friskies only, as I am traumatic with fishy food…

    Reply

  15. pussy
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 15:50:46

    dear pak trijoko,,,

    aku caran mhasiswi semster 4 jur ahasa inggris,, aku ada tugad untuk paper dan aku mengambil judul tentang comparing between american and british slang,, kira2 ini teralu luas dan akan menyulitkan atau tidak yah …. aku minta referensi buku yang bisa bantu aku untuk pembahsan aku ini

    Reply

  16. pussy
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 15:51:40

    terima kasih sebelumnya pak…

    aku harap bisa segera di follow up hehehehhe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

